top of page

Let’s Read "No Place to Go", a Novel written by John H Sime my Editor in the USA

Born 1952, Viroqua, Wis, graduated in Comparative Literature BA/MA from the University of Wisconsin-Madison 74/76, Sime served U.S. Peace Corps in Mali, West Africa, as a teacher at the Ecole Normale Superieure , teachers college in Bamako, Mali 76/78. He later graduated from the Kentucky School of Mortuary Science, Louisville, Kentucky in 1980. He became a Funeral Director in western Wisconsin. No Place to Go stars Cy Butt, a legendary whiskey drinker, practical joker, and sometimes lawyer who does secret investigations for the state of Wisconsin on murders and thieves.

Cy Butt is joined by a colorful group of supporting characters, including aliens. This is a work of fiction that absorbs elements of reality. Cy Butt was the quintessential professional student who actually attended the University in Madison for decades on a family inheritance; also alluded to are Ed Gein, the notorious body snatcher from Plainfield, Wis., and such actual crimes as the Evelyn Hartley kidnapping in La Crosse, Wisconsin.

No Place to go is one of the most inspirational books I ever read because it’s written by my editor, mentor, adviser, Mr. John H. Sime. By reading this book in the middle of nowhere, in the fabled desert city of Timbuktu, it’s just like traveling across the United States and walking in the winding streets of Wisconsin. I discover and see a lot of similarities of my own people. I discover by this book the state of Wisconsin where my editor was born grew up and is spending the rest of his life. The story of Cy Butt really touched my heart.

No Place to go is a book that explains for me and helps me discover the life in Wisconsin as well as the story of Cy Butt and Enoch the African American. John H. Sime also talks about one of the cultural heritage legacy of ancient culture, I mean the Dogon cultural heritage legacy, I read with a deep understanding how he describes Dogon people religious belief such as the Nommo and Amma, which explains the Dogon ancestral religious beliefs, which I spent my early university years teaching to tourists from around the world, particularly Americans who visited these ancient historic sites of the escarpment hill of the Dogon country.

This fascinating book of a real hsitorial figure cy butt gave me a better understanding of western Wisconsin life in the 1950’s. For us the new generation of digital age of E learners this book is an inspiration for an entire generation as writers and lovers of literature. I met John H. Sime in 2012 at the early beginning of the conflict in the fabled desert city of Timbuktu, at this time I was writing on a blog posting articles. Thanks to my work we met and he volunteered to be my editor since that time up until now he is still still educating me in English writing skills.

I have a deep passion to learn English since I was born in the winding streets of Timbuktu in remote northern Mali, West Africa. This region is land locked, arid, and poor but it is a power house when its comes to history, arts, and literature. I have met a lot of people like john H. Sime, coaching me mentoring me and send me novels from the United States. I today am using this knowledge to transmit the cultural heritage of my ancestors to the outside.

Thanks to the coaching and the deep mentoring of john H. Sime, one of my top priorities is to empower and strengthen the youth of Timbuktu in terms of leadership and writing skills. The initiative will train soon youth of Timbuktu in citizen journalism and empower them to be the voice of their communities. I have learned a lot from you, John, today I will use this knowledge to change the life of my communities and be among the global citizens of the world.

Editor : John H. Simz


About Me.

I am a freelance journalist, blogger and peacebuilder. Born and raised in mystical Timbuktu.

Read my full biography by clicking HERE!
 

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page