top of page

Leading the Way for Women and Girls with Disabilities


Elizabeth Mang’eni is a 26years old lady from Kenya. She is the Cofounder of You4She Initiative with over two years of experience in creating disability awareness and empowering girls especially those with disabilities who face ‘double discrimination’ that’s based on their gender and disability status. At You4She, she also empowers and educates young adolescent girls and teaches them about menstrual hygiene after she and her team realized that many of them would miss school every month due to their menstrual cycle of which should not be the case. She is also a Trade Development Officer with the Ministry of Industry, Trade and Cooperatives in Kenya where she promotes local entrepreneurship in local, regional and international markets.

One of the proudest accomplishments of her life was earning her first degree and securing a scholarship from African Union to pursue her Master’s Degree in Entrepreneurship. She never dreamt in life that she could go through University Education successfully let alone pursue a Master’s degree because she battled the negative feeling of being a person with disability. For as long as she can remember, entrepreneurship and women empowerment has been her passion. This is because she seeks to use entrepreneurship as a tool to empower women in her society especially women with disabilities.

Can you introduce yourself and your work?

My name is Elizabeth Mang’eni from Kenya. I am the Cofounder of You4She Initiative with over two years of experience in creating disability awareness and empowering girls, especially those with disabilities who face ‘double discrimination’ that’s based on their gender and disability status. At You4She, we also empower and educate young adolescent girls and teach them about menstrual hygiene after we realized that many of them would miss school every month due to their menstrual cycle. I am also a Trade Development Officer with the Ministry of Industry, Trade and Cooperatives in Kenya where I promote local entrepreneurship in local, regional and international markets.

One of the proudest accomplishments of my life was earning my first degree and securing a scholarship by African Union to pursue my Master’s Degree in Entrepreneurship. Personally, I never dreamt in life I would go through University Education successfully let alone pursue a Master’s degree because I was battling the denial feeling of being a person with disability. For as long as I can remember, entrepreneurship and female empowerment has been my passion. This is because I seek to use entrepreneurship as a tool to empower women in my society especially women with disabilities.

Tell us a bit about your childhood, your ambitions and who inspired you to be who you are now?

I am the second born in a family of 5 girls and 2 boys. I was unfortunately involved in a tragic road accident in 1994 when I was 3 years old which led to the loss of my right leg. During the process of recovery, I would interact with one Dr. Maurice Siminyu who saved my life after performing a corrective surgery on me. Dr. Siminyu used to encourage me while growing up. He advised my dad how to handle my case after the accident since during those days disability mainstreaming was not a familiar thing and he even helped me secure my first internship in hospital. At one time I even envisioned of becoming a surgeon like him so I could save lives just like he saved mine. Then Biology, Chemistry and Physics happened and that’s when I realized my passion was not in Medicine but I could still make a difference and save lives in different ways like Entrepreneurship. I had so many ambitions. One time I would want to be a surgeon, or a banker so I could sit behind the counter and have people not judge me because of my disability, but then God always kept taking me to this one direction, and from the moment I discovered my purpose I have never looked back.

What do you think about female empowerment?

I believe that female empowerment cannot be achieved by only fighting for what is right but also working towards self-development. This is why I think that integrating social-business as a tool to enable women in my community to voice their concerns will assist in developing Africa.

Growing up as a teenager, I was told that men were superior to women. I also witnessed girls in my community getting married at early ages while others dropped out of school because of financial difficulties. However, in my years of study, I realized that there should be gender equity if equality cannot be achieved. I feel privileged to be brought up in a family where my disability was not looked down upon and I was empowered to always bring out the best in myself. I therefore want to pass this privilege to women /girls especially those with disabilities. I began having an interest in female empowerment which led to social-business and entrepreneurship. I seek to integrate entrepreneurship with female empowerment because I believe that women have a greater impact in the society when given a chance through entrepreneurship thus can voice their concerns loud and clear.

What are some of the challenges you have faced in the typical male dominated profession of politics?

I have never engaged myself in politics apart from the voting process, but what I can tell you is the challenges I have faced when it comes to implementing my work in the community. Funding is the biggest challenge. If I had enough funding I would very much help many people with disabilities who lack assistive devices move easily, help some undergo corrective surgeries and therapy or even funding to help some start their own businesses while others pursue their education. I at times face rejection by some community members as first of all I'm a lady and at the same time disabled therefore most people never want to be involved with my project.

What were some of the biggest obstacles to reaching where you are today?

Discrimination, Discrimination and Discrimination. I really fail to understand what people gain from discriminating against somebody just because one is a woman and a person with disability. I believe one has to use a lot of energy just to put somebody down yet that energy could be used elsewhere to bring more positive impact. Discrimination is one of my biggest obstacles that I am trying to tackle and overcome while undertaking my day to day activities. Discrimination has made persons with disabilities live bitter lives because they feel unwanted and unworthy, some have even tried committing suicide because of stress. Personally, I turn to God, close family members and friends who are always there to encourage me and I live my life for me and not for somebody else. I also tell my story and get to create awareness on the rights of persons with disabilities so as to reduce discrimination and the feedback I have has been getting is amazing.

What is your message for other women and girls who may be inspired by your journey and achievements in Africa? What is your last word?

“Follow your passion, be prepared to work hard and sacrifice, above all, don’t let anyone limit your dreams”. These words by Donovan Bailey have been a maxim that continues to guide my life. It’s simple, be you and always have belief in yourself. The moment you believe in yourself then they will to.

Editor : John H . Sime

About Me.

I am a freelance journalist, blogger and peacebuilder. Born and raised in mystical Timbuktu.

Read my full biography by clicking HERE!
 

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page